Zen Japanese Restaurant

zenhandroll

After my first time at Zen, I swore off cheap sushi for years. I was lucky enough to have been introduced to this gem from a high school friend and her parents almost a decade ago. Since then, we have annual get-togethers just to visit the chefs at the sushi bar of Zen. Omakase at its finest, the chefs remember our favourites and always serve us the freshest, high-quality fish available. This last visit, I couldn’t help but wonder if they’d noticed how much CC and I had grown up over the years. However, due to this special treatment, I could never go to this restaurant without my parents because I simply could not afford it on my own. After 8+ years, we can no longer stomach 2 portions of each nigiri and extra dessert that we did when we were teens, but we’ve definitely developed our own special Zen traditions – extra portions of uni (sea urchin), finishing off our meal with a toro handroll, and the must-have mandarin cream pie.

 Wishing CC much luck at LSE this year for grad school! I can’t wait until our next visit.

UPDATE: Zen has now moved to a beautiful new location on Woodbine Ave in Markham! They’ve improved their menu, expanded the sushi bar, and greatly enhanced the omakase experience. I’ve already introduced numerous friends to this location, and they’ve all come back with raving reviews. Additionally, one of our favourite chefs, Jackie, has moved on to a great opportunity as the head chef of Shoushin in midtown Toronto. Good luck to everyone at their new location!

 

Leave a Reply

